Walkingshaw Motorsport

The Walkingshaw Motorsport team, with their Volkswagen Scirocco R, driven by Ben Walkingshaw.

Now racing in the BRSCC Clubsport Championship.

The Car

The Walkingshaw Motorsport Scirocco R was developed in 2023 by our own Engineers here at Workington.

Starting with a low-mileage 2016 model it has been completely stripped and re-built for racing.

It runs a mostly standard 276bhp 2.0 turbocharged engine but the chassis has been substantially upgraded to cope with the demands of motorsport.

Body modifications you can see at the front and rear are designed to increase downforce and improve grip.

The body has been strengthened with a fully welded-in safety cage and electrical cut-off and fire suppression systems are also installed.

The DW Motorsports Clubsport Trophy

Conceived in 2019, the BRSCC ClubSport Trophy is one of the most successful new series launched by the Club in recent years, and has rapidly grown in popularity, with bumper grids typically turning out at every race and regular entries of 30+ cars at every Clubsport weekend.

The format is simple – a 45-minute “mini endurance” race with a mandatory pit stop and both solo and two driver entries permitted. Grids are typically populated by a mix of regular dedicated entries, drivers and cars competing in other series on the same weekend (e.g. Mazda MX-5s, BMW Compacts, Ford Fiestas etc) and cars that appear at selected circuits.

The series is separated into five classes, all determined by power-to-weight ratio with a maximum cap of 235bhp per tonne. Cars must run on List 1A/ 1B/ 1C tyres and all cars must comply with the mandatory Motorsport UK safety requirements.


The Walkingshaw Motorsport Scirocco R racing team were out at Croft Circuit this weekend competing in the Classic Sports Car Club ‘Turbo Tin Tops’ series.

We had made further improvements to the car so were hoping for a good result.

A difficult qualifying session however left us 18th on the grid but after an exciting 40 minute race we were delighted to take home two trophies: Second Turbo Tin Top and first in class!